Highland and the Islands Regional Forestry Forum

Meeting minutes

Forum members

Chair: Dr. Michael Foxley (Fort William)

  • Highland Regional Councilor for Mallaig, Ardnamurchan and the Small Isles 1986-1996.
  • Highland Councilor for Ardnamurchan and Morvern 1995 -2007, now Fort William and Ardnamurchan.
  • Chair of Highland Council’s Land and Environment Committee 1986 – 2003. Led for the Council on Land Reform.
  • Vice Convener Highland Council 2003-2007.
  • Leader of the Administration of Highland Council 2008 – current.
  • Chairman of Budget Working Group 2003 – Lochaber Area Chair of Education 1998.
  • Chair of Climate Change Working Group 2008.
  • New Schools; Gaelic.
  • Affordable Housing, European Funding, Rural Health.
  • Member of 8 Community Boards/Trusts.
  • Chair of Sunart Oakwoods Initiative 2000 to current.

Hector Munro (Evanton)

  • Chartered Surveyor and Farmer
  • Managing partner of family diverse farming and forestry business since 1973
  • Member and past Chair/Director of several farmer owned co-operatives
  • Lifelong interest in trees and their role in the landscape and economy of the Highlands
  • Member/Director of various Heritage/Wildlife Trusts
  • Local Access Forum Member
  • Partner in three renewable energy projects
  • Community Council Chairman

Mike Girvan (Orkney)

  • Retired farmer
  • Retired SAC consultant latterly in charge of the Kirkwall office
  • Director of Corrimony Windfarm

Thomas MacDonell (Glenfeshie)

  • Director of Conservation and Forestry, Wildland Ltd
  • Former factor Glenfeshie Estate
  • Member of Cairngorms Local Outdoor Access Forum (CLOAF)

Dr. Elizabeth Barron-Majerick (Inverness)

Phil Di Duca (Fort Augustus)

Grant Holroyd (Knoydart)

Kevin Thomas (Dalcross)

Judith Webb (Inverness)

Alastair Lumsden (Inverness)

Linzi Sievewright (Forres)

Angela Douglas (Strathpeffer)

Elaine MacAskill (Lochinver)

Greg Vickers (Reay)

Steven Liddle (Dingwall)

Rhanna Russell (Inverness)