Woodland award winners announced at RHS

The importance, diversity and value of Scotland’s forests were celebrated today (Friday 24 June) at the Royal Highland Show with the announcement of the 2016 Scotland’s Finest Woods Awards winners.

Organised by independent charity, Scotland’s Finest Woods, the awards celebrate the range of contributions that woodlands make to the people, environment and economic prosperity of Scotland.

This year’s winning projects come from all across Scotland and illustrate the variety of approaches taken to ‘forestry’ – and the end results.

Angela Douglas, Executive Director of Scotland’s Finest Woods, said;

“Forestry was not so long ago a fairly hidden aspect of life in Scotland but it is increasingly becoming more visible to lots more people.

“As an industry it is worth almost £1billion to Scotland’s economy but as a haven of biodiversity and as a learning, recreation and health resource for communities and individuals, its value is incalculable.

“There are many aspects to modern forestry that involve and engage businesses and schools, organisations, communities and individuals all of whom are passionate about sustaining, maintaining, expanding and perhaps most importantly of all enjoying our woodland resource.

“The Scotland’s Finest Woods Awards recognises, celebrates and commends this dedication and commitment to the creation and management of Scotland’s finest woods.”

In addition to receiving trophies and prize monies, all winners receive a specially commissioned cherry wood commemorative plaque engraved with their winning details to keep in addition to a certificate.

This year’s award winners were:

Community Woodlands Awards:

Winner of the Viable Livelihoods competition and overall winner of the Community Woods category (Tim Stead Trophy)

  • Kilfinan Community Forest, Arygll

Winner of the Healthy Lifestyles competition :

  • Evanton Community Wood, Ross-shire  

New Native Woods Award

Winner of the Woodland Trust Scotland Trophy for New Native Woods:

  • Jane O’Donovan & Neil MacKenzie for Garradh Beithe Wood, Inverness-shire

Schools Award Winner of the Crown Estate Schools Trophy

• Gavinburn Early Education and Learning Centre, West Dunbartonshire (also awarded tree planting/growing kits and a magnifying post for exploring the natural world in addition to the trophy and prize-money).

Quality Timber Award

Whole Estates category – (John Kennedy Memorial Trophy for Multi-purpose Woodlands)

• Sutherland Estates, Golspie

New Commercial Woodlands category (James Jones Trophy)

• Mr Pelham Olive for Carrick Estate, Cowal

Small woods, single stand or compartment of trees category (Hunter Blair Trophy for Silvicultural Excellence)

• Forest Enterprise Scotland, Tay Forest District for Allt Charmaig, Errochty Forest, Perthshire

Special prize for innovation and diversity (Dulverton Flagon)

• Forest Enterprise Scotland, North Highland Forest District for Sibster Forest, Caithness

Notes to editors

  1. Forestry Commission Scotland is part of the Scottish Government's Environment and Forestry Directorate.
  2. Forest Enterprise Scotland is an agency of Forestry Commission Scotland and manages the National Forest Estate on behalf of Scottish Ministers.
  3. A partnership to run an annual awards programme was first established in 1985. Since 2005 the awards programme has been managed by a not-for-profit company which introduced new award categories for community woodlands and schools in 2006, for new native woods in 2011 and for new commercial woods in 2012.  The company is a registered charity.
  4. Scotland’s Finest Woods’ key delivery partners in 2016 are: BSW Timber Ltd; Egger Forestry; Forestry Commission Scotland; Iggesund Forestry; James Jones & Sons Ltd; Outdoor and Woodland Learning Scotland; Scottish Woodlands Ltd; Tilhill Forestry; Woodland Trust Scotland.
  5. The following have also generously contributed to the running of the awards programme in 2016: Alba Trees; Caledonia Play; Central Scotland Green Network Trust; Community Woodlands Association; Confor; Institute of Chartered Foresters; Royal Scottish Forestry Society; Sylva Foundation.
  6. Tha Coimisean na Coilltearachd Alba na phàirt de Bhuidheann-Stiùiridh na h-Àrainneachd is Coilltearachd aig Riaghaltas na h-Alba. Tha e an urra ri riaghladh agus cumail maoineachadh is comhairle ri coilltearachd ann an Alba. Tha Iomairt Choilltean na h-Alba na fo-bhuidheann aig Coimisean na Coilltearachd Alba a tha a’ ruith Oighreachd na Coille Nàiseanta.
  7. Media enquiries to Paul Munro, Forestry Commission Scotland press office, 0300 067 6507 / 07785 527590 / This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or Angela Douglas (Executive Director, Scotland's Finest Woods) on 07969 327015