Limerigg (Blackrigg / Drumclair)
From farms to mines
The old parish of Slamannan was once a quiet farming community, but in the 19th century, coal mining transformed it for a short time into an industrial centre. Today, Limerigg Wood stands where once there were farms and coal mines.
The 1st Ordnance Survey 6-inch map (1864) shows the area before the coal mining industry is established.
The remains of a building at Drumclair farmstead.
The Old Statistical Accounts (1791) provide a tale about the origin of the parish name Slamannan. It is said that it came from a farm labourer who told the Earl of Callander and Linlithgow that ploughing his land would "slay man and mare". Although simply a folk tale, it suggests this area was not good land for farming.
However, General Roy's Military Survey Map (1747-1755) shows that there were farms in this area by the mid 18th century. Today in Limerigg Forest, the archaeological remains of two farmsteads, Drumclair and Blackrigg, still survive.
The low walled remains of a building at Drumclair, which is thought to be the remains of the farmhouse.
Ordnance Survey maps illustrate that both farms grew over the 19th century, suggesting that their owners invested in the land by encouraging agricultural improvements to their farms. In 1864, an absentee landlord, Henry Taylor, owned Drumclair farmstead. The other farmstead, Blackrigg, was the property of an important local family, the Waddells of Balquhastone.
The exact location of Limerigg is grid reference NS 860 711.
Limerigg Wood is easily accessed.
All sites managed by Forestry Commission Scotland are open for you to explore. However, not all sites have paths or signage and some are a considerable distance from car parking. We recommend that visitors consult a detailed map and wear appropriate clothing.
Please follow the Scottish Outdoor Access Code and remember that historic sites should be treated with care and respect.